person-logo.JPG (9317 bytes)

home > Biographies > Albert Parham Clayton
This page last updated on 28 May 2006

Albert Parham Clayton


Person County Times. 21 June 1934.

Final Rites Held Last Sunday for Mr. A. P. Clayton
Postmaster Of Roxboro A Number Of Years, Popular Over Entire County
Large Crowd Present At Funeral

Final rites-were held for A. P. Clayton of Roxboro last Sunday at 3:00 p.m. Mr. Clayton had been in failing health for some time although his illness was not considered as serious until about one day before his death. He passed away at 3:15 o’clock Saturday morning.

For the past ten years the deceased has served as postmaster in this city and was holding this position at the time of his death. Before he accepted the position as postmaster he had served as register of deeds of Person County and also as chief of police.

Mr. Clayton numbered his friends by the hundreds. He was known over the entire state of North Carolina and a line of cars around two miles long at his funeral paid tribute to his memory. He was a member of the Roxboro Primitive Baptist Church and he was always faithful to Its cause. For a number of years he was clerk of the Lower Country Line Association and Union, he was assistant clerk to the association.

Funeral services were held Sunday at three p. m. and interment followed in Burchwood cemetery.

Mr. Clayton was born in Roxboro on January 27, 1868. His widow was Miss Anna Foushee before her marriage. In addition to this widow, Mr.Clayton is survived by: one son, T. A. Clayton, of Roxboro; six daughters, Mrs. Preston Satterfield, of Roxboro; Mrs. J. F. Lewis, of Farmville; Mrs. Melvin Long, of Fayetteville; Mrs. I. L. James, Mrs. O. T. Kirby and Mrs. H. S. Gates, all of Roxboro; three brothers, F.O., O.Y. and N.R. Clayton, all of Roxboro, and two sisters, Mrs. C. E. Harris and Miss Victoria Clayton, both of Roxboro.

Active pallbearers were: Dr. B. E. Love, F. D. Long, Claude Harris, S.B. Davis, Dr. B. A. Thaxton, J. W. Montague, D. S. Brooks and F. J. Heater.

Those serving as honorary pall bearers were J. E. Kirby, Sam Perkins, Joe Carver, Jasper Harris, W. H. Harris. A. M. Burns, D. W. Ledbetter, Dr. G. W. Gentry. A. E. Jackson, Jack Parham, D. W. Long, M.W. Satterfield, C. Pass, Dr. E. J. Tucker, J. H. Moore, S.G. Winstead, Otis Tillman, Gilbert Tillman, T. D. Winstead, W. R. Hambrick, Lester Clayton, E. E. Thomas, Charles Holeman, L. L. Lunsford and B. G. Clayton.

Acting as floral bearers were Arch Moore, C. E. Garrett, N. A. Edwards. Victor E. Clayton, Hassell Fox, N. H. Street, D. E. Fentherston, Dewey Jones, John Whitt, Guy Clayton, Carl Clayton,. Zeb Harris. Alvin Clayton. M. R. Clayton, Earl Clayton, Harold Clayton, O.Y. Clayton, Jr., and Maxi Fox.


person1 gif

 2006 by page maintainer
See details and email address
on the info page

nclogo.gif (4325 bytes) usgwlogo.gif (5708 bytes)